Friday, June 20, 2008

Working Girl



(This first pic is actually the 1st weekend. A bunch of us took the public bus to downtown. All the buses are double decker here. Im 3rd row on the right)

Wednesday morning, 8:15 I woke up for my first day of work. That was probably the 4th time all year (2008) that Ive woken up in the 8 o' clock hour. I got up, got dressed, went to breakfast in dorm 119 that consisted of cereals, bagels with diff spreads, muffins, and juices. eh. Then I went back to my room before heading for the Tube for my daily commute. My commute takes about 30 minutes each way and consists of walking about 1/3 a mile and taking two trains that can get very hot, smelly, and crowded. Oh and they break down, have delays, etc. nearly everyday. But all in all, its not bad lol. Oh and a perk is ppl hand out free newspapers so everyone is always occupied reading them and listening to the house/electronica type music that I can often hear blasting from their headphones. Everyone is hyped up on their music and coffee (a regular comes with 2 shots of espresso). But yeah, everyone seems in a hurry, even the cars drive past and crazy and I can't count how many times I, or someone I've seen, has almost been ran over. And everyone dresses really well, the guys especially. Its definitely nice to look at, but makes me feel grungy, or American.
So back to describing work...I start at 10 and end at 5:30, not bad. So far I've mainly done image searching, which is looking through stock photo sites for all the good images I can find to use for articles in the upcoming Autumn issue, Quintessentially: High. Every issue has a diff theme, and this one will be looking at all things high, such as high resorts and monasteries, mountain climbers, the tallest towers/buildings, private jet clubs, high end chocolates, etc. The magazines are really cool. Very high end with lots of bold graphics and colors and always witty, or as they say, cheeky. The last issue was Fun with a Goose on the cover (pic is the mag layout) and before that, Wicked. Check out my job for yourself, http://luxurypublishing.uk/
So yeah, I've been doing lots of image searching, watching tutorials for Quark, and the first day I spent calling the press offices of companies such as Hermes, Louis Vuitton, La Perla, Cartier, Ralf Lauren, etc. to send them copies of the magazine b/c they had been featured in the main fashion spread. That was kinda intimidating, esp. b/c it was hard to understand them b/c of accents, the old phone I had to use, and noise in the office.
The ppl I work with/for are nice. Not extremely friendly like some of the other interns offices, but nice. Seriously, some of the other kids are getting taken out on lunches, getting VIP tickets to clubs and movie premiers, taken to galleries during office hours, etc. So lucky!!!! And Im so jealous! But hey, Im doing what I want to be doing/learning. The editor in chief, Stephano, reminds me of Andy Warhol but without the social awkwardness. He is really nice and cool in that he is cordial and is always going around looking at everyones' work and taking the time to sit down with them and go over what he likes and doesnt like and why. And he will show them step-by-step how to improve it. He is the top of his game and definitely knows what he's talking about and definitely expresses what he likes and doesn't like. They aren't blunt here, if they don't like something they will say, "That is awful, just terrible!" And if they like something they will say, "That's lovely, absolutely brilliant!"
Wed night me and 4 other girls went to this free show at a pub in the East end. It was kinda like China Town, but the pub was like your typical local music venue, but a little nicer. We all got drinks and watched the first band, The Heys. The girl we went with, Katie, has been friends with them on myspace for 4 years apparently, and was now finally getting to see them live. She was obviously way excited. So, since they "knew" her, we ended up talking/hanging out with them after their set. They were really friendly and even invited us to come hang out with them some more, lol. And Katie says one of the guys has been texting her constantly, hah. So that was lots of fun.
Tonight I got back from work and ate dinner at the cafeteria with Katie and 3 other girls. I've eaten dinner with diff ppl ever night just b/c i always get back at diff times b/c the Tube is rather unpredictable. Oh and I bought a cell phone today so I finally have contact with the world outside of the internet! Incoming calls are freee for me, so if for some reason you feel like calling the UK or somehow have some great phone plan, CALL ME! What you do is: dial 011 then 44 then 753-086-1504 . The phone cost £20, and all of that went to credit my minutes, so essentially it was free, yay! Ahh, I am going to be so broke when I get back. The exchange rate is horrible and everything costs money. For example, the reason Im in my room at midnight on a Friday is because practically everyone went to this big club called Fabric tonight. It coast £15 just to get in, which is $30. And, they didnt leave till about an hour ago and we have to be up at 930am tomorrow to leave for our Bus Tour of London (posting pics soon) So, no thanks. I just pre-gamed with them instead and then came up and started blogging to appease all you inquiring family members ( ; (I love you!!)
So that's what's new! Sleep time~

PS. Turns out no one ever made it to Fabric b/c ppl got lost and when they finally found it there was like a 2 hour wait to get in! ha. Everyone said I should be glad I didn't come.

6 comments:

Unknown said...

Great blog - really enjoyed reading it. I am very proud of you. The nice thing about working is you aren't spending money! Keep learning - it sounds like you ended up in the right place. I'll try and call you. Love you! Dad

Unknown said...

Tiff - Phone number clarification for anyone that wants to call you from the States: dial 011 then 44 then 753-086-1504 - you had one too many zeros! It goes through - but you need to answer your phone!!!!!

Norman said...

It seems so funny that you were in Dallas a little over a week ago..I am glad you are finding time to make friends and blow off steam while working and learning at the same time...
I love the fact that your are always worried about money...I really like that quality about you..It takes most people entire lifetimes to get it..You are so far ahead of people your age and people older than you ..By the way, that is a compliment to you...
Love your current post..Norman

n said...

i love you!!!!!!

Unknown said...

Great talking to you today! You sound great and I'm glad you are experiencing a different culture and view of the world. Americans are so myopic and its good to see there are so many different ways to go about our days. Experience it all and keep learning. We love you!

Anonymous said...

[url=http://louboutinshop.co.uk]christian louboutin shoes[/url] I helped to get the chinking off him, and he jumped to his feet. [url=http://dkgoose.com]Canada Goose Parka[/url] Nkmlubdvu http://canadagoosesweden.com
htcmih 925971 [url=http://www.canadagoosestorontofactory.ca]canadian goose sounds[/url] 793039 [url=http://www.officialcanadagooseparkas.ca]canada goose sale toronto[/url]